Opinions on 17Hmr

Talk about your Varmint Rifles and other firearms here!
Oz2africa
Favourite Cartridge: 7mmremmag

Opinions on 17Hmr

Post by Oz2africa »

Hi guys wanting something smaller than the 22-250 for plinking and rabbit,
Am wanting a little 17hmr.
Does anyone know if the mossberg 817 plinkster pistol grip is any good or is there something else I should look at?
The Raven
Ultimate AusVarminter
Favourite Cartridge: .270 Win

Re: Opinions on 17Hmr

Post by The Raven »

I have no experience with the Plinksters but did notice it is very keenly priced.

If price isn't a limiting factor (within reason) take a look at the Savages. A member here has one and it is a very nice rifle, shoots great, and looks better than most similar rifles (IMHO).
Camel
Ultimate AusVarminter
Favourite Cartridge: 20-222 6x47 rem, 250

Post by Camel »

Had two over the years, Ruger and CZ, passed them both on as I found I was better off with a 17 centrefire, for range as well as accuracy.
Branxhunter
.338 Lapua Magnum
Favourite Cartridge: .20-222

Post by Branxhunter »

For plinking and rabbits I would go to a 22lr - much cheaper ammo, no need to routinely use solvent on the bore etc.

I have a Ruger .17hmr, and while a nice rifle if I walked into a gunshop today to buy a .17 caliber it would be a .17 Hornady Hornet. Very impressed with Bimbo's that I had a couple of shots out of up at Yass.

Marcus
Tony Z
.270 Winchester

Post by Tony Z »

I have to agree with Mark, centerfire all the way. I had a 17HMR and it was great but the price of the ammo kept climbing and put it beyond economic consideration when i could load a Hornet for the same dollars. Then the 17/222 was only a few cents more so i cast off the Hornet as well. For ease of tuning i would say 17MachIV or 17/222 over the Hornet.
bimbo
300 Win Mag
Favourite Cartridge: 17HH

Post by bimbo »